There are eight categories of people to whom Zakat can be distributed. These have been identified as:

1) Al-Fuqara: The Poor
This refers to those who do not own any Zakatable asset nor surplus asset which equates to the Nisab.

2) Al-Masakin: The Needy
According to some scholars, they are those whose economic status is worse off than the needy. In essence, they refer to those people who do not own any Zakatable asset nor surplus which equates to the Nisab.

3) Al-‘Amilina ‘Alayha: Administrators of Zakat

4) Al-Mu’allafate-Qulubuhum: Reconciliation of Hearts. This term applies to people who have embraced Islam or who are inclined to it.

5) Fir-Riqab: For those in Bondage
Zakat may be allocated to help Muslims free themselves of bondage / slavery.

6) Al-Gharimin: Those in Debt
Zakat may be given to those in debt. Those individuals whose liabilities exceed their Zakatable and surplus assets can receive Zakat to pay off debt.

7) Fi-Sabilillah: In the Cause of Allah
Muslim jurists differ on who or what can be covered under this category, although most seem to agree that it can be used in the defence of Islam. In the wider sense however, this channel covers promoting the Islamic value system.

8) Ibnas-Sabil: The Wayfarer
A wayfarer refers to a traveller who left his home for a lawful purpose and for whatever good reason does not possess enough money to return home, even if he is rich in his own country.


Zakah is a compulsory act of worship and one of the five pillars of Islam. It is an obligatory charity that Allah, the most beneficent and most merciful, has imposed on our wealth to ensure that those who are most needy do not go without.

In the Sharia, the word Zakat refers to the determined share of wealth prescribed by Allah to be distributed among the deserving categories of those entitled to receive it. Muslims who own wealth over a certain amount (called Nisab) are required to donate a portion of this wealth (a minimum of 2.5%) to those in need.

Donations of Zakah are distributed to those who are poor,
needy and the destitute.This will be given in the form of cash. Zakah is calculated at 2.5% of all earnings accrued over a lunar year.



0300 1240260

In partnership with:

Zakat is not just a duty on those with wealth, but a right that the poor have over us – we are “those in whose wealth there is a recognised right for the needy and the poor” (Qur’an 70:24-25).

This Ramadhan Insha'Allah, ANO will be collecting ZAKAH, Sadaqah and Lillah for the people of As-Shaam, West Africa, Somalia, Palestine and those in need right here in the UK including newly - settled Syrian refugees.

Please support ANO this Ramadhan with your Zakah/Sadaqah so we can continue making a difference TOGETHER.

We wish all our supporters and donors a very blessed Ramadhan and Eid Mubarak. May Allah azza wa jaal accept from us and you, ameen.